Fresh Beginnings

210_SLEEP Heart and Brain

It has been a long time since I’ve posted anything here but I feel it’s time for me to come back at long last. For a start, I’ve finally managed to snare funding and thus I have recently (last September) started a PhD at the University of Manchester to study sleep loss in individuals with mental illness. This project is so fascinating but there is so much I feel I need to learn in order to make a worthwhile contribution. So, as part of my research, I have started answering basic sleep questions which I think will help inform my own studies and thinking. I’ve written these so that they’re accessible to everyone as I feel that’s the best way for the work to stick in my head, and also potentially make these articles useful to someone besides me.

Although I have no idea how many people will read this (if any), I will still get some benefit from educating myself more about sleep, sleep problems and the impact of both of us on our daily functioning through writing these articles. If a few people were to read and enjoy them though, I would be overjoyed (simple academic, that I am)! As a disclaimer, nothing I post here will be set in stone – medically speaking – but will be the product of my own research, conversations and (in the future) own experiments within this field. I will likely touch common sleep problems such as insomnia and sleep apnoea in the near future, and although  what I write will be as as truthful as I can manage with the available materials, this blog will be no substitute for seeing a doctor about your own concerns.

I’m looking forward to exploring sleep in more detail and answering some of the questions I had before even starting on this PhD. However, on that note, if there are any questions which people have about sleep, I am would be more than happy to give it my best go to give you a satisfying answer.

Expect the first article shortly!

Inquisitive Tortoise

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

